web analytics

2018 Glen Phillips Poetry Prize Competition

The results of the Glen Phillips Poetry Prize Competition are now available. The competition judge, Doctor Nandi Chinna was unable to deliver the judges report herself, so Glen Phillips delivered the report and presented the prizes at her request. Nearly 200 entries were received this year, a record number of entries and we’re already looking forward to next years competition to see what everyone comes up with.

Left to right, Norma Schwind (Commended), Ruby Paterson (Novice Award), Shey Marque (Third Place), Nyah Gray (Commended), Shane McCauley (First Place), Chloe Diggins (Youth Award), Glen Phillips, Sariah Hotai (Highly Commended), Ross Jackson (Highly Commended).

Award day with attending finalists and guests.

Shane McCauley (First Place) and Glen Phillips.


  • First Places was awarded to Shane McCauley for Endgame.
  • Second Place was awarded to Kevin Gillam for The Vase Room.
  • Third Place was awarded to Shey Marque for Settina for Juliette.
  • The Novice Award was awarded to Ruby Paterson for I feel suddenly very small.
  • The Judges Encouragement Award for Youth was awarded to Chloe Diggins for Beggar’s Belief.

Four Highly Commended Certificates went to:

  • Ross Jackson for Wednesday Scorcher. 
  • Rita Tognini for Landscape with Family.
  • Sariah Hotai for Overlooked.
  • Jas Choo for Yellow Fever.

Four Commended Certificates went to:

  • Mark Pearce for At the end of Hope.
  • Norma Schwind for Yesterday’s Hero.
  • Elanna Herbert for Reading Colonial Art: in Western Australia.
  • Nyah Gray for At a Loss for Words.

Leave a Reply