Welcome Writers

The Peter Cowan Writing Centre is in its 20th year of providing an ongoing source of support and development for emerging and established creative writers within the northern suburbs of Perth. It has continued to grow and offer a range of writing opportunities for its membership and the wider writing community.

Nestled in the Pines, near the lake in Edith Cowan House, which was transported to the ‘heart’ of the Joondalup campus in 1997, members and visitors can explore the Peter Cowan Library. We have a welcome coffee morning on the first Saturday of the month from 10am.

Join us for some writing exercise or enjoy the ambience of the library. The centre conducts four, annual writing competitions: The Peter Cowan 600 Short Story Competition, the Trudy Graham-Julie Lewis Literary Award for Prose, the Patron’s Prize for Poets, and the Glen Phillips Poetry Prize. Peter Cowan Writers’ Centre Inc. also holds regular member meetings, conducts an annual writing retreat that is facilitated by our annual Writer in Residence (2015 is Susan Midalia), provides specialist writing workshops in memoir, prose, poetry, publishing and social media; and offers regular creative writing and editing sessions for its members and the wider writing community.


News and Updates

  • Writing Short Stories: Plot and Theme with Laurie Steed (WSS161)

    Writing Short Stories: Plot and Theme with Laurie Steed (WSS161)

    Saturday March 12th  Your story’s plot is the sequence of events that affects other events through the principle of cause and effect. But how does one skilfully manage these events and in doing so, create a story that’s not only well plotted but also compelling to the reader. In this workshop, award-winning author Dr Laurie Steed …Read More »

  • 2016 Peter Cowan 600 word Short Story Award

    2016 Peter Cowan 600 word Short Story Award

    2016  Peter Cowan 600 word Short Story Award The competition has an open theme and entrants may submit stories up to a maximum of 600 words.  Entries must also be unpublished and not have received any previous awards or recognition in any other competition. In addition to the ‘Open’ category open to all writers, the ... Read more...Read More »